Old Book Website Banner
Christ the King was founded in 1955. Pastor Milo Engelstad was called by the Evangelical Lutheran Church (Norwegian Synod) to develop a congregation in the new suburb of Bloomington. Due to a combination of Bloomington’s rapid growth and an earnest commitment to God’s mission, the congregation grew rapidly in its first two decades, and became one of the largest congregations of the American Lutheran Church (successor body) in the state of Minnesota. Four major building campaigns have been held, the first three of which included an expansion of the worship space. The fourth campaign, completed in the Spring of 2011, was for the purpose of enhancing the gathering space and improving the flow from worship space to the Social Hall, handicap accessibility, and an outdoor amphitheater.

The congregation throughout its history has been strongly committed to music and the arts, faith formation for all ages, and both global and local mission. 

Pastor Engelstad retired as senior pastor in 1986.  

For more information on the history of Christ the King Lutheran Church, contact the church office at 952-881-8600


Christ the King Senior Pastors

Milo Engelstad 1955-86

Kenneth DeFor 1986-99

Kristine Carlson 2000-06

Morris Wee 2000-07

Hans Lee 2008-2015

Rory Philstrom 2016 – Present

Christ the King Associate Pastors

Reuben Groehler 1960-66

Charles Von Fischer 1966-71

James Schwartz 1971-79

Kenneth DeFor 1978-86

Gregg Helland 1978-84

Wayne Anderson 1985-90

Timothy Tengblad 1987-00

Blair A’Hearn 1992-94

Mark R. Olson 1994-97

Sarah Ciavarri 2001-06

Kacey Hahn 2009-2015

Maria Anderson Lippert  2018-Present